Khairulorama. Life and Work Notes.

Pain is the predecessor of success.

..drawing a blank ..

with 2 comments

I had the hardest time, when I sat for my Public Health viva voce examination. Not only that, I was blank. But I had what they called, “mental block”. I cannot generate answer. It was terribly hard.

I dont usually, do that. I performed well during my Medicine, Paeds, OnG. I had the same mental block during Surgery. I wonder why?

So I checked out some website to help me studying. And I have test anxiety rupa-rupanya.

HOW DO I KNOW IF I HAVE TEST ANXIETY?
http://www.how-to-study.com/testanxiety.htm
You probably have test anxiety if you answer YES to four or more of the following:

    1. I have a hard time getting started studying for a test(Yes).
    2. When studying for a test, I find many things that distract me(Yes).
    3. I expect to do poorly on a test no matter how much or how hard I study(No).
    4. When taking a test, I experience physical discomfort such as sweaty palms, an upset stomach, a headache, difficulty breathing, and tension in my muscles(Yes).
    5. When taking a test, I find it difficult to understand the directions and questions(Yes).
    6. When taking a test, I have difficulty organizing my thoughts(extremely yes).
    7. When taking a test, I often “draw a blank.”(Yes)
    8. When taking a test, I find my mind wandering to other things(Yes).
    9. I usually score lower on a test than I do on assignments and papers(Not necessarily).
    10. After a test, I remember information I couldn’t recall during the test(Positively Yes)

Symptoms:-
1. Palpitation tak tentu pasal
2. Sweaty palms.
3. Shaky legs
4. Lowering my confident outlook.
5. Feeling under the weather. Yeah. Blame it to the weather.
6. That tick feeling.

So what should I do?
1.Good study technique. (Discussion ker, jawab mcq, predict the question. I usually do this.).
2. Postive thinking about studying. Think of as perform rather than failing. Think of it as how much you have learned.
3. Get well rest and fed. (I didn’t get enough sleep that night.)
4. Stay relax and think you can do this.
5. Dont panic
6. Dont excessively worry.
7. Learn from your and other people mistakes
8. Doa and prayers. May be I was too distracted.

-When you are blank! The Quran and Sunnah will always remain to be ‘that’ benchmark!

Written by khairulorama

January 14, 2007 at 12:47 am

Posted in Medical Life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. my mum taught me to recite surah al-insyirah while putting the palm onto the chest wall to calm down. for some reason i found it worked most of the times. helps to calm the nerves down before an exam, esp oral/clinical ones. verse 5&6 : verily after harship there is relief. all the best! 🙂

    shu

    January 15, 2007 at 3:50 am

  2. i hate drawing blanks.
    students worse enemy -i reckon

    neesa

    January 23, 2007 at 5:45 am


Leave a Reply

