Khairulorama. Life and Work Notes.

Pain is the predecessor of success.

5 core values of the Happy, Wise and Wealthy

with one comment

Happy Maal Hijrah! For those who are foreign to the muslim world, today marks the day the initial beginning of the Hijra Calender. It commemorates the hijra or pilgrimage of The Prophet – Rasullulah from Makkah to Madinah. You know sometimes, you listen to your non muslim friends who says ‘saya akan berhijrah ke Kuala Lumpur, atau Melbourne, atau London atau New York’ – literally it means moving / shifting but what it really means is, getting a permanent residents of the places mentioned.  

 

So I have decided to think about what are the core values of the Happy, Wise and Wealthy.

 

If you read personal finance book, i think the list will go on like thousands and thousands items. It will probably mentioned about downsizing your home, commuting with a bike, and cooking your own meals and living with your parents. But hey let faces it, you a living the reality – a realist- not a blind optimist.

I think there are many techniques to cut down your finance  especially consumption spending.

I think what makes the techniques persists must be something to do with long term core values. A long lasting relationship with money and personal finance that is purposeful and beneficial. Here are my list;-

 

1. They hate DEBT!

Nobody enjoys debt. But I know some people with a huge amount of debt enjoys it and even had BRAGGED about it!.

Debt is useful if you put towards something beneficial. A nice home, a nice car and a nice education. I think this are the thing that will need substantial amount of debt. A nice home is something that is worthwhile buying . A nice home does not necessarily means, buying a RM 640 000 ( USD 200 000) in the middle of KL house. A nice home may cost about RM 150 000 ( ~ USD 50 000) and you can grow everyone in that humble home. And the debt that you are carrying is reasonable and flexible. I got a friend who had total accumulative debt of RM 2 000 000 (read RM 2 million) at the age of 30 years old. Can you imagine the freedom in that! Seriously RM 1 600 000 for home, RM 180 000 for a car and RM 300 000 for another apartment. That is crazy as hell! And besides that he has two children going to a nursery. I ve been telling myself this is crazy to carry so much debt,

 

2. They have a healthy amount of respect to the future self

If your future self can travel back in time say may be when you were 20 years old. What would the message be?

” Hey thanks for getting me into trouble not able to pay that crazy debt you have inherited me with!”

or ” Hey thanks a lot for not learning new things and making me learn now”

or ” Hey thanks a lot for starting some crappy business now I am in trouble paying the DEBT! ”

 

I would not want to hear all these. It will be a shamed if my future self comes to see me a say all this.

or ” Or Thanks a lot for getting me a heart attack!”

 

3. They have a personal ambition!

They have a good sense of personal growth. What is a good life without personal growth. Not only monetarily. But also education, seeing their sons and daughters ambitious ly pursuing their own dream. They respects people with experience not only during good time but more over during bad times.

 

4. The have this appreciative values of thankfulness,

They have so much respects for gratitude and kindness. What else do you want if your have like RM 5 million in a bank? There are more plenty things that gives happiness that just money!

 

5. They are not materialistic.

Enough said! They are normal people because they like to work hard!

 

20130914_190051

 

 

 

 

Salam Maal Hijrah 1435!

I didnt realise that I had migrated to Klang valley from cosy Kuantan until today.

Written by khairulorama

November 5, 2013 at 9:34 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that is really true. Debt is very unhealthy. I paid for my flat completely in two years time as it is a cheap one. Anyway I am happy with my choice. I also like your example of your 20 year after self. I have never thought of it before

    empathy75

    June 19, 2017 at 3:55 am


Leave a Reply

